Skiing Part I: My first skis

When I was a kid my Dad gifted me my first G I Joe. It was called Snow Job. Snow Job was one of the good guys and had skis. img-20150302-wa0002So like all kids I really enjoyed playing with it and sliding it down every inclined surface I could find. Did I ever want to go skiing? Well not really, it wasn’t a really deep desire but ya I was pretty fascinated by it. Growing up, a Kashmiri gentleman used to come to my Dad’s shop once a year with his trekking group, and every year he would tell my Dad to send me along with him to Kashmir for skiing, and every time my Dad would just smile and tell him some day he would. As the years went by, my fascination for skiing grew. Would I have gone with him if my Dad allowed? No way. I was too scared. Every now and then when it snowed in Darjeeling during the winters I’d go out and throw snowballs and slide around. But the region was not ski friendly. So as the years went by my desire to ski slowly started fading away. It wasn’t until early last year when out of the blue I remembered those stories and told myself that it was high time. Googling I came across Indian Institute of Skiing and Mountaineering (IISM) run by Dept.of Tourism. img_20150305_135826Upon enquiring I was told that the dates were not out yet and would come out during autumn. When the dates were finally announced, I made my plans to go do the basic course. I got the last batch, registered myself and filed the necessary paperwork. Now I had some direction. I started training little by little, working on my strength, fitness and endurance. All those biryanis and junk food I’d mercilessly butchered all came out during the workout. I feel very lucky to have been given an opportunity to go skiing. We are so busy growing up that a lot of childhood dreams are long forgotten. An episode of the 1989 TV series The Wonder Years very nicely sums it up. ”When you’re a little kid, you’re a little bit of everything. Artist, Scientist, Athlete, Scholar. Sometimes it seems like growing up is a process of giving those things up, one by one. I guess we all have one thing we regret giving up; one thing we really miss – that we gave up because we were too lazy, or because we couldn’t stick it out, or because we were afraid.”

Leave a Reply

